Scholarships and Awards

Click here for Scholarship Student Application Form

Click here for Aviation Related Award Application

2013 Scholarship Winners: Ben Brennan, Eric Fast

One of the primary aims of WAA has been to support and nurture interest in aviation and aerospace education.

The primary goal of our fund raising activities is to build the scholarship fund entitled Humphrey J. Amedeo, Jr. Aviation Scholarship Foundation. Since the program began in 2006, thousands of dollars have been given to deserving students. In 2018, the Scholarship Foundation expanded its program to provide financial awards to applicants who are pursuing an aviation related career or who have demonstrated a commitment to advancing in an aviation related pursuit.

Information and application forms for both the student scholarship program and the aviation related awards program are available by clicking on the links at the top of this page.  Applications are encouraged. Program information can be found below.

2012 Scholarship Winners
Tom LaPere, Jennifer Hawthorn, Sydney Taylor, Tom Allen

Program Information Academic Scholarship Information
Past Recipients
The Westerly Airport Association annually awards scholarships to assist students pursuing postsecondary education toward an aviation or aero-space related career, such as flight crew, aircraft maintenance, aeronautical or astronautical engineering, airline or airport operations and the like.
• Applications are welcome from students with genuine interest and realistic expectations for success in any of these fields.
• To be eligible, students must graduate from high school no later than June 30th.
• Applicant should be accepted at, and plan to attend an accredited college, university or specialized technical school beginning in the year.
• Applicant must have permanent residence in New England, preferably southern Rhode Island or Southeastern Connecticut.
• Applicant should have demonstrated commitment to the chosen course of study, evidenced by related activities. These might include such pursuits as having already taken ground or flight training, passed FAA written exams, attended aviation camps, served in the Civil Air Patrol, or completed internships or work experience at airports or aviation related businesses.
• Application should be accompanied by a one-page essay composed by the student. This essay should demonstrate the student’s qualifications for this scholarship, including goals and plans for reaching them.
• WAA Academic Scholarships are awarded based on motivation, character, academic excellence, financial need, the student’s essay, and recommendation(s) of his/her teacher(s), guidance counselor(s), or mentor(s).
• Any WAA Aviation Scholarship recipient may apply for renewal in subsequent years, based upon academic success demonstrated in his/her transcript, along with recommendations of professors in the student’s department, as well as financial need.
• Application must be postmarked by March 31, to be considered for the year’s awards. Candidates will be reviewed and the winners selected by the WAA Scholarship Committee. Awards will be based on the above criteria. Applications for these awards will be accepted until March 31st of the award year, and may be sent to:

Scholarship Committee
Westerly Airport Association
PO Box 2053
Westerly, RI 02891


Program Information Aviation Related Award Application

Please direct questions about these programs or the application process to:

2014 recipients
Benjamin Brennan – Old Saybrook HS, CT Aero Tech, A&P Mech.
Samuel Godfrey – Stonington HS, Jacksonville Aeronautical Science.
Scott Liguori – Westerly HS, Wentworth or Northeastern Mechanical Engineering.
Joel Nelson – Stonington HS, E-R Aero. Univ., Pilot
Sarah Winneg – Chariho HS

2013 recipients
Ben Brennan – A&P school
Eric FastWorcester Polytechnic Institute study of Aeronautical Engineering

2012 recipients
Jennifer Hawthorn – Daniel Webster College – $1,000.00
Sydney Taylor – $1000
Thomas Allen – US Air Force Academy, 2016 – $1000
Tom LaPere– $1000

2011 recipients
Jennifer Hawthorn – Daniel Webster College – $1,000.00
Christopher Blanco – $500
Thomas Allen – US Air Force Academy, 2016 – $500

2010 recipients
Jennifer Hawthorn – Daniel Webster College – $1,000.00
Bethany Strohm – North Stonington HS – $500 (2010 WAA calendar art contest wnner)

2009 recipients
Jennifer Hawthorn – Stonington High School – $1,000.00
David Young – Westerly High School – $1,000.00
Christopher Payne – Embry Riddle Aeronautical Collage – Repeat $500.00

2008 recipients
Craig McCue, North Stonington Class of 2008, planning to attend Johns Hopkins University to study Aerospace Engineering; repeat awards to Steve Coleman and Chris Payne.

2007 recipients
Steve Coleman of South Kingstown, Class of 2007, studying to be a professional pilot
Chris Payne for his second year, both attending Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

2006 recipients
Keith Spaulding and Chris Payne, Westerly High School Class of 2006, planning to study Aeronautical Engineering at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Daytona Beach, FL.